Dropbox a great file synchronization utility

Check  out dropbox when you get time.  Applications like this have been around for a long time, but none have made it as simple as dropbox and it just works.( Older examples Novell iFolder and even Microsoft offline files).

I was having a hard time keeping my course work files in sync between my home computer, office computer, the tablet I’m testings, and my laptop. Every time I would use a usb drive and start transferring files I would have hard a time figuring out what was the latest version of the file and what files were missing where.  This is where dropbox comes in, it synchronizes your files up to a server and then keeps all of the files in sync on each computer you have the client installed.  The free version comes with 2gb of storage which is plenty of space for office documents and some small images.  You can upgrade your account to get more space, but that costs money.  I do not recommend using this as a secure file backup yet though.  The internet cloud, especially free ones I don’t feel to secure about using.

Check it out and let me know what you think.

https://www.dropbox.com/

Leave a Reply

