First 5k Race – Health

I finished my first 5k race this past weekend and I met my goal time and pace.  I was pretty happy with myself, the results are at the following link.  http://www.racetime.info/2011%20RESULTS/PRAIRIEFESTR.HTM#%208

What does this have to to do with leadership.  A lot!  First I set a goal and I was able to achieve it with persistence and training.  You can become a great leader with persistence, patience, and practice.  Second for anyone to be a effective leader they need to have a healthy mind and body.  Exercise helps me clear my mind and get rid of all that stress that builds up and helps me stay mentally fit.  What do you do to help relieve stress?

Now to get into the low 7’s for my pace in my next 5k race and to keep a mid 7’s pace for a 10k for this fall.  Then onto a half marathon sometime next calendar year.  We’ll see what that goal is after my 10k in the fall. 🙂

Leave a Reply

