What makes people think about change?

While listening to fairly recent podcast on freakonomics radio “http://freakonomics.com/2015/10/29/am-i-boring-you-a-new-freakonomics-radio-episode/”. I began to think what makes people unhappy in their jobs or life at times and then I began to think why was I able to stay employed at a job for 13 years without wanting move on much sooner. OK this may have not been the only factor that kept me for looking for so long, but it was big factor I stayed as long as I did and why it was hard for me to move on.

I realize now I get bored very easily and need to be challenged or allowed to think through tasks or technical challenges on my own terms so I don’t get bored.  My past job changes had nothing to do with this but it was a big reason why it took so long for me to change. My last job change is a different story for a different time.  My old and new job allows for me to do this and a big reason I’m in the role I’m in now.  The point of this blog though is how do we keep our employees, kids, or whomever you lead to be challenged so they don’t get bored while continuing to complete the tasks the need to be completed done.

I can only speak for myself and it was a struggle at times with some.  No matter how difficult it was or how long it took, we need to let others think through the tasks they have on their own and continue to give them tasks that challenge them.  Let them fail and ask as many questions as needed, but you need to be sure you give them detailed tasks that they can handle and can be completed in the timeframe that maybe required. This can be difficult and painful at times when they fail, but it’s needed.  I need to find the stats on this, but how many people leave a job because they are challenged and continue to learn. I would be willing to guess most won’t leave a job no matter low low their pay maybe as long as they continue to learn and be challenged.

Why did you leave your last job?

Comments are always welcomed and encouraged!

Leave a Reply

